Do you know that texting and driving are illegal in most states?
Despite this, many people continue to text and drive because they are unaware of the dangers.
By understanding the risks involved, people can decide to put their phones away while behind the wheel. We hope our website will help people become more informed about the dangers of texting and driving.
Learn more about the dangers of texting and driving!
Texting and driving have become a leading cause of auto accidents. There are several reasons why this is the case:
- Texting takes a driver’s attention away from the road. This increases the likelihood of an accident happening.
- Texting can also lead to driver fatigue. When a person is tired, their reaction time slows down, which can be dangerous when operating a vehicle.
- Texting can also cause a driver to lose control of their car because they are not paying full attention to the road and their surroundings.
As a result, people need to be aware of the dangers of texting and driving. By understanding the risks involved, people can decide to put their phones away while behind the wheel.
Is texting and driving illegal in Florida?
In Florida, it is illegal to text and drive. This law was enacted in 2019 to help keep drivers safe on the road. First-time offenders are looking at a $30 fine and can climb to over $100. When drivers take their eyes off the road to look at their phones, they risk themselves and others. Texting and driving are distractions that can lead to accidents, injuries, and even death. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, nearly 3,000 crashes in the state in 2016 were caused by distracted driving. Of those crashes, 33 resulted in fatalities. The department also reports that there has been a decrease in distracted driving crashes since the law went into effect. In 2017, there were 2,634 crashes caused by distracted driving and 28 of those resulted in fatalities. This shows that the law is helping to make Florida roads safer for everyone.
Florida’s Ban on Texting and Driving: 5 Things to Know
When you’re driving, you’re breaking the law.
The law clarifies when you’ll be fined if caught using your phone while driving. For example, your automobile is “not being operated and is not subject to the restrictions” if it isn’t moving. So, you may do so if you’re sitting at a stoplight or in a traffic jam and want to send a text, email, or contact someone. As soon as you step on the throttle, your hands should be on the wheel, and your eyes should be fixed on the road.
If you’re caught texting and driving, you might get a penalty.
The new legislation elevated texting and driving to principal crimes. You can be stopped and fined if a police officer believes you are texting while driving. Until this, authorities could only pull you over if they found you guilty of another infraction like speeding or swerving.
Schools and workplaces are given special attention to security.
The law allows you to use your phone as long as your car is solitary. However, you are not permitted to do so in designated school zones and road construction areas. You can’t even use navigation applications while holding your phone up to your ear. Using your cell phone in these zones is illegal unless you’re in a life-threatening situation.
On the other hand, hands-free devices allow you to make phone calls without using your fingers to key in data or divert your attention. For example, Siri, Alexa, and Google Assistant are all examples of personal virtual assistants. The law requires that you keep one ear open even if you are wearing headphones.
The ticket can be contested in the courts.
This traffic violation is non-criminal, meaning you can go to court and fight the ticket. Any further fines or points on your license should not be added to your record if you win. However, if you lose, you will no longer be eligible to erase points from your license by completing a traffic school course certified by the Florida DHSMV.
It’s important to double-check the points you were awarded if you didn’t win. Suspension is possible if you rack up too many points on your record, even unintentionally. Keep in mind that the points will remain on your license for three years, so keep an eye on how many points you have!
Having a South Florida attorney defend you in court can improve your odds of success.
Insurance rates might be affected by citations.
If you get a ticket for breaking this new legislation, your insurance rates may also go up. However, insurance companies will charge you more for your coverage if you’re prone to texting while driving.
In terms of distracted driving, texting is well-known to be the most harmful.
According to NHTSA, 3,142 lives were lost in 2020.
This is because even five seconds of attention when driving at high speed can lead to fatal events. For example, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, driving an average highway speed of 55mph while looking down to read or type a text message is the same as driving a football field with your eyes closed for five seconds.
If You Have Been Involved in a Texting and Driving Accident, Contact South Florida Attorney Mark T. Stern.
Distracted driving is a severe issue in the United States, where it takes the lives of thousands of people each year. According to NHTSA data from 2016, about nine individuals are murdered, and over 1,000 accidents occur daily due to distracted driving. After implementing this new law, Florida becomes the 41st state to regard texting while driving as a principal crime.
It remains to be seen if the new regulation will help reduce accidents caused by distracted driving. Knowing your legal rights and obligations can help you avoid getting involved in a distracted-driving-related car accident, though.
So, is driving and talking on the phone illegal in Florida? The answer to that question is yes-if; if you’re caught using your phone while driving, you can be fined, even if it’s to talk. There are a few exceptions to this rule—for example, you’re allowed to use your phone as long as it’s hands-free, and you can still use navigation apps—but, generally speaking, it’s best to wait until you’re out of the car to use your phone. So if you have been involved in a texting and driving accident, knowing your legal rights and options is essential – an experienced South Florida attorney can help.
Personal injury lawyers who focus on auto accidents, like attorney Mark T. Stern in South Florida, are your best bet if you or someone you know is injured in a vehicle crash. We defend those who have incurred damages as a consequence of the carelessness of others as skilled Florida attorneys. For further information, please get in touch with us right away at 954-772-6800.